Oct 25

International Standards

Two important meetings are organized in October 2016 : the plenary meeting of the IEC Committee regarding Surge Protective Devices (the Chairman of the Committee works at SEFTIM) in Prague and the plenary meeting of the IEC Committee regarding Lightning Protection Systems (the Chairman is from USA) in Poland.

sc37aprague

For the SPD committee the main points are related to the application guide for power SPDs that is under revision (at first draft stage for Edition 3 of the standard. It is reminded that the document is a standard at IEC level but a Guide at CENELEC level) and the application guide for Photovoltaic SPDs (this document is at the stage of draft international standard and should be published early 2017. It will then replace the European guide EN 50539-12).

 

tc81poland

For the LPS committee the main points are related to Edition 3 of the 62305 series of standards that should introduce important changes for the risk calculation (introduction of the frequency of damage concept in addition of the usual risk calculation, better definition of the protection probability provided by a SPD or SPD set).

Oct 20

Publication of a reference book regarding photovoltaic applications (in French only)

gmoine

The book from Gérard Moine specialist in PV applications) « L’électrification solaire photovoltaïque : systèmes autonomes, hybrides, mini réseaux » has just been published and cand be purchased at http://librairie-energies-renouvelables.org/.

The code « SSF2016 » allows to send back 5% of the total to the ONG «Solaire Sans Frontières».

 

 

 

Sep 26

SEFTIM participates to ICLP2016

ICLP 2016 was in Estoril (Portugal) from 26th to 30th September. More than 250 people were present for technical and scientific discussions and the conference was a clear success.

iclp2016estorilSEFTIM participated as a reviewer for many sessions in order to select publications, then has been chairing the first session : « Lightning physics and phenomenology ».

The 3 publications that SEFTIM has authored or co-authored have been all accepted and can be downloaded from the page « our publications » under the ICLP item. They are dealing with the following topics :

  • iclp5High-Frequency Grounding Impedance Measurements at Test Site in Huta Poreby Poland by Grzegorz Maslowski; Robert Ziemba; Mitchell Guthrie; Alain Rousseau; Vladimir A. Rakov
  • Thunderstorm Warning Systems: IEC 62793 standard by Stéphane Schmitt; Alain Rousseau
  • Lightning Risk Evaluation – Field experience by Alain Rousseau; Fernanda Cruz, Sébastien Sarramegna; Semi Taofifenua; Wacapo Taine;

Aug 22

Lightning Protection in Tahiti

golfmoorea

A SEFTIM engineer has performed, in cooperation with SEFTIM New Caledonia, a study for the MOOREA GREEN PEARL Golf course. SEFTIM has a dedicated international team to study the lightning protection scheme of golf courses. The protection involves the main structures (club house, key building and equipment) and recommendations have been given for the golfer and workers protection in stormy periods.

 

 

 

Jul 28

Activity outside of France

Thanks to SEFTIM entities outside of France many lightning studies are done worldwide. Of course, it is generally not possible to list them all as the result of the study belongs exclusively to our custoemrs. Two typical studies have been performed recently :

madagascar

  • SEFTIM Indian Ocean : study for a power plant in Madagascar. The methodology is similar to the one used in France with a Lightning Risk Analysis, A Technical Study and in-fine an Initial Inpsection. The environmental risk has been taken into account using the methodology proposed by SEFTIM in international publications in order to expand the IEC 62305-2 standard. The study covers also of course the human risk as well as the loss of production that is crucial for Madagascar.
  • SEFTIM Portugal : study for a plant producing bitumen in Portugal. The study has allowed to define accurately the needed protection means without implementing lightning protection measures everywhere. Furthermore sensitive equipments have been indentified by the LRA method that were not identified before.

Jun 10

A new solution for step and touch voltage

epr

In case of lightning activity, step and touch voltage risk can occur in an area of 3 m around the place where the lightning current enters the soil.

This channel can be well known for example when there are only down-conductors on a wooden structure. However, in many cases the lightning current will split between various paths (structure metallic frame, metallic façade covering, electrical conductors, pipes …) existing in a structure.

This risk can be reduced by insulating people feet from the ground, for example a thickness of 5 cm of asphalt. However this thickness is difficult to check in practice and the effect of a top layer of rain water is not clear.

A new product : a mat named “EPR” that is provided like a portable carpet 3.2 mm thick, size 1.0 m x 1.5 m based on 3 layers :

  • Top : non conductive rubber
  • Medium : Stainless steel
  • Bottom : conductive rubber

May 03

Introducing the DEGM – a new way to locate the lightning terminal

DEGMInterception efficiency is the most important parameter to show the effectiveness of air-termination systems. The dynamic electro-geometrical model (DEGM), a numerical method, is capable of calculating such interception efficiencies. This model is purely based on international accepted models, parameters, deviations and dependencies, which are also comprised in the IEC 62305 series.

It is possible to optimize the positioning of the rods in order to obtain interception efficiency as high as the one calculated for the selected level of protection (90%). The rods with the lowest efficiency can be neglected and it is even possible to position the rods in an optimized way using the DEGM.

This approach is particularly interesting for complex shaped sites.

Apr 25

SEFTIM at ILPS 2016

ILPS2016_amphiILPS 2016 was from 21st to 22nd April in Porto. About a hundred person coming from 20 countries were participating to exchange about the trend in lightning protection. There were 4 sessions:

Session 1 : Lightning Protection – special designs, experience & practice

Session 2 : Laboratory and in situ test, standards

Session 3 : Lightning detection, earthing and miscellaneous

Session 4 : Lightning physics, simulation and theory

ILPS2016_lunch

SEFTIM Portugal was ILPS 2016 sponsor (the Chairwoman of the organizing committee is member of SEFTIM Portugal team). It was the opportunity of a strong presence of SEFTIM with the co-chair session 3, and 2 member of SEFTIM Portugal, one of SEFTIM Brazil and 2 from SEFTIM France. 3 publications have been presented and can be downloaded from the “our papers” page under the item ILPS

A lot of debates animated the conference inside the meeting room or during the breaks and the lunches. An official diner, the mandatory but very charming Fado as well as a bit of port wine contributed to the nice mood.

Mar 10

A 2 days Technical Seminar in Fontainebleau

FontainebleauTechnical development and standards are constantly evolving and it is important for the technical staff as well as for business engineers that they constantly master these issues and anticipate at best the changes. For this purpose, a 2-day seminar brought together most of our available Parisian players to discuss the latest technical developments . The seminar was held in the imperial city of Fontainebleau, allowing us to concentrate for two days outside of the Parisian pressure.

The topics concerned people protection, the various types of Lightning Protection System , surge protective devices and earthing systems. How to check the protection means in field is becoming increasingly complex , and was also one of the topic addressed.

Mar 09

2016 Lightning Conferences

SEFTIM will participe this year to 2 main international lightning conférences : ILPS in Porto in April and ICLP at Lisbon in September. For lightning it is the Portugal year !

ILPS2016For ILPS (https://www.ilps2016.org/)  publications have already been accepted by the Scientific Comittee :

SEFTIM Brazil : The Role of the Grounding System in Electronics Lightning Protection

SEFTIM Portugal : Lightning Protection of Golf Courses and outdoor activities.

SEFTIM France : Lightning Protection System taking into account currents greater than IEC 62305 standardized values.

 

 

 

For ICLP (http://iclp2016.org/) publicationsstill have to be approved by the Scientifc Committee

ICLP2016SEFTIM New Caledonia : Lightning Risk Evaluation – Field experience

SEFTIM France : Thunderstorm Warning Systems: IEC 62793 standard  and another topic in cooperation with Polish and US colleagues : high frequency groundng impedance tetsing at test site in Huta Poreby, Poland

 

Older posts «

Oct 25

Normalisation internationale

 

Deux réunions importantes ont lieu au mois d’Octobre 2016 : la réunion plénière du comité IEC parafoudre basse tension (le président du Comité de Normalisation travaille chez SEFTIM) à Prague et la réunion plénière du comité IEC paratonnerre (le président du Comité de Normalisation est Américain) en Pologne.

sc37aprague

 

Pour le comité parafoudre les évènements importants concernent le guide d’application des parafoudres du réseau basse tension qui est en révision (état de premier projet pour l’édition 3 de la norme. Pour rappel il s’agit d’une norme au niveau IEC mais d’un guide au niveau CENELEC) et le guide d’application des parafoudres pour application photovoltaïque (ce document est à l’état de projet de norme international et devrait être publié début 2017. Il remplacera le guide européen EN 50539-12).

tc81poland

 

Pour le comité paratonnerre les évènements importants concernent l’édition 3 des normes de la série 62305 qui devrait introduire des modifications significatives pour le calcul du risque (introduction du concept de fréquence de dommage en plus du calcul usuel du risque, meilleure définition de la probabilité de protection apportée par un parafoudre …).

 

 

 

 

Oct 20

Sortie de l’ouvrage de Gérard Moine sur l’électrification solaire photovoltaïque

gmoineL’ouvrage rédigé par Gérard Moine (grand spécialiste des applications PV) « L’électrification solaire photovoltaïque : systèmes autonomes, hybrides, mini réseaux » vient juste de sortir.

Cet ouvrage de 648 pages, cofinancé par l’ADEME s’adresse à tous ceux qui conçoivent, installent ou exploitent des installations photovoltaïques non raccordées au réseau. Il se veut, avant tout, un guide technique pratique s’appuyant sur plusieurs dizaines d’années d’expérience de conception et de terrain.

La commercialisation est assurée par Observer pour un montant de 79 €TTC (port compris) : http://librairie-energies-renouvelables.org/.

Il est important de noter que le code de réduction « SSF2016 » permet de reverser un montant de 5% à l’association « Solaire Sans Frontières » sur le montant de votre achat.

Sep 26

Participation de SEFTIM à ICLP2016

ICLP 2016 s’est déroulée du 26 au 30 Septembre à Estoril (Portugal). Plus de 250 personnes étaient présentes pour des discussions techniques et scientifiques et la conférence a été un succès.

iclp2016estorilSEFTIM a participé comme relecteur pour plusieurs sessions afin de sélectionner les publications, puis a animé la première session : « Lightning physics and phenomenology ».

Les 3 publications que SEFTIM a rédigées ou co-rédigées ont été retenues et sont téléchargeables à la page « nos publications » sous la rubrique ICLP. Elles traitent des sujets suivants :

  • iclp5High-Frequency Grounding Impedance Measurements at Test Site in Huta Poreby Poland by Grzegorz Maslowski; Robert Ziemba; Mitchell Guthrie; Alain Rousseau; Vladimir A. Rakov
  • Thunderstorm Warning Systems: IEC 62793 standard by Stéphane Schmitt; Alain Rousseau
  • Lightning Risk Evaluation – Field experience by Alain Rousseau; Fernanda Cruz, Sébastien Sarramegna; Semi Taofifenua; Wacapo Taine;

Aug 22

Protection foudre à Tahiti

golfmoorea

Une ingénieure de SEFTIM a réalisé en collaboration avec SEFTIM Nouvelle Calédonie, une étude foudre pour le MOOREA GREEN PEARL Golf. SEFTIM a une équipe internationale dédiée pour l’étude de protection foudre des terrains de golf. La protection concerne les structures importantes (club house, bâtiments et équipement importants) et des recommandations ont été faites pour la protection des golfeurs ainsi que du personnel en période d’orage.

 

 

 

Jul 26

Activité hors de France

Grâce aux entités SEFTIM hors de France de nombreuses études foudre sont réalisées dans le monde. Bien évidemment il n’est généralement pas possible de citer le résultat de ces études qui appartient exclusivement à nos clients. Deux études significatives ont été réalisées récemment :

madagascarSEFTIM Océan Indien : une étude pour une centrale électrique à Madagascar. La méthodologie est proche de celle utilisée en France avec une Analyse du Risque Foudre, une Etude Technique puis in-fine une Vérification Initiale. Les risques environnementaux ont été pris en compte en utilisant la méthode proposée par SEFTIM dans des publications internationales afin de compléter la norme IEC 62305-2. L’étude couvre bien évidemment également le risque pour le personnel et le risque de perte de production qui est important pour Madagascar.

SEFTIM Portugal : une étude pour une centrale de production de bitume au Portugal. L’étude a permis de définir avec précision les moyens de protection utiles sans avoir à mettre en place des protections couteuses sur tout le site. En outre, des équipements sensibles ont été mis en évidence par la méthode d’Analyse du Risque Foudre, qui n’avaient pas été identifiées auparavant.

 

Jun 10

Une nouvelle solution pour la tension de pas et de contact

epr

En cas de choc de foudre la tension de pas et la tension de contact peuvent être dangereuses pour les personnes dans un rayon de 3 m là où le courant de foudre entre dans le sol.

Cet emplacement est facile à déterminer par exemple pour un SPF sur une structure en bois mais pour beaucoup de cas (structure avec façade métallique, SPF non isolé, tuyaux métallique entrant dans la structure) le courant de foudre va se partager entre divers chemins qui sont autant de dangers pour les personnes.

Le risque peut être réduit par une couche d’asphalte de 5 cm autour de ces conducteurs mais cette épaisseur n’est pas facile à vérifier et l’effet de la pluie sur la surface n’est pas établi clairement.

Un nouveau produit : un tapis portable appelé « EPR » permet de résoudre ce problème. Il a une épaisseur de 3,2 mm et des dimensions de 1,0 m x 1,5 m. Il est basé sur 3 couches :

Dessus : gomme non conductrice

Au milieu : fin maillage en acier inox

Dessous : gomme conductrice

May 03

Introduction du DEGM – une nouvelle façon de positionner les paratonnerres

DEGML’efficacité de capture est le paramètre le plus important pour montrer l’efficacité d’un système de capture. Le Modèle Electro-Géométrique Dynamique (DEGM), est une méthode numérique innovante, capable de calculer cette efficacité de capture. Ce modèle est basé uniquement sur des modèles acceptés internationalement et sur des paramètres qui sont aussi compris dans la série des normes IEC 62305.

Il est possible d’optimiser le positionnement des PTS de façon à obtenir une efficacité de capture aussi grande que celle calculée pour le niveau de protection retenu (90%). Les PTS d’efficacité la plus faible, peuvent être négligés et il est même possible de repositionner les PTS de façon optimale en utilisant le DEGM.

Cette approche est particulièrement intéressante pour les sites de forme complexe.

Apr 25

Participation de SEFTIM à ILPS 2016

ILPS2016_amphiILPS 2016 s’est déroulée du 21 au 22 Avril à Porto. Une centaine de personnes de 20 pays étaient présents pour discuter des sujets actuels de la protection foudre en 4 sessions:

Session 1 : Lightning Protection – special designs, experience & practice

Session 2 : Laboratory and in situ test, standards

Session 3 : Lightning detection, earthing and miscellaneous

Session 4 : Lightning physics, simulation and theory

ILPS2016_lunchSEFTIM Portugal était sponsor d’ILPS 2016 (la présidente du comité d’organisation étant membre de SEFTIM Portugal). Cela a été l’occasion d’une forte présence de SEFTIM avec la co-animation de la session 3, et la présence de deux personnes de SEFTIM Portugal, d’une de SEFTIM Brésil et de 2 de SEFTIM France. 3 publications ont été présentées et sont téléchargeables à la page « nos publications » sous la rubrique ILPS

La conférence a été très animée avec un fort lot d’échanges tant dans l’amphithéâtre que lors des pauses et déjeuner. Un repas officiel, l’obligatoire et pourtant très agréable Fado  et un peu de porto ont aussi contribué à l’ambiance.

Mar 15

Formation en Belgique sur la protection foudre

UmonsSous l’égide de la Commission Electrotechnique Belge (CEB), le Professeur Christian Bouquegneau (UMONS) organise, au sein du CEB à Bruxelles durant le second semestre de l’année 2016, une formation, en 10 après-midi de 3 heures (14 :00 à 17 :00), consacrée à la normalisation en matière de protection contre la foudre. Cette formation comprend 4 modules : le module 1 est un prérequis ; les modules suivants (2, 3 et 4) peuvent être suivis, soit conjointement, soit indépendamment l’un de l’autre. Une attestation de fréquentation (partielle ou complète) sera délivrée. Pour obtenir l’attestation de réussite de la Formation de spécialiste en protection contre la foudre et porter le titre de « spécialiste en protection contre la foudre », le récipiendaire devra réussir une épreuve unique couvrant les matières des 4 modules.

Organisation, demande de renseignements : Prof. Christian Bouquegneau, Université de Mons, Faculté polytechnique, Rue de Houdain 9, B-7000 MONS, Belgique Mail : christian.bouquegneau@umons.ac.be

Mar 10

2 jours de séminaire Technique SEFTIM à Fontainebleau

FontainebleauLes évolutions techniques et les normes évoluent régulièrement et il important que le personnel technique et les ingénieurs d’affaire les maîtrisent en permanence et anticipe au mieux les changements. A cet effet, un séminaire de 2 jours a réuni la plupart des acteurs parisiens disponibles afin de faire le point sur les évolutions techniques. Le séminaire s’est tenu dans la cité impériale de Fontainebleau, le cadre permettant de se concentrer pendant 2 jours en dehors de la pression parisienne.

Les sujets traités ont concerné la protection des personnes, les divers types de Système de Protection Foudre, les parafoudres et les prises de terre. La vérification des moyens de protection, de plus en plus complexe, a également été l’objet de démonstrations.

Articles plus anciens «